The origins of our Auberge date back to the time of the pioneers in the Eastern Townships, over 200 years ago. In 1798, Isaiah Sweet, a loyalist emigrating from New York State, built the original brick farmhouse. Later, in 1898, a new owner had the barn built with wood all the way from Mégantic, without any nails - a unique feature. The dairy farm, with its 360 acres, was very prosperous for much of its century-long history. Its many sugaring parties, family gatherings, weddings and holiday festivities were a joy for all - a foretaste of what the Auberge would one day become!
We are very proud to have such a rich and interesting history.